

GOVERNING BOARD-In session April 25, 1956, is the new Board: (seated, from left to right) Procter Thomson, R. W. Bates, T. H. Hopper, A. F. Kapecki, and N. D. Embree; (standing) E. M. James, J. J. Ganucheau, W. A. Peterson, A. R. Baldwin, and C. E. Morris.

New Governing Board Takes Many Actions

EETING in Houston, April 25, at the Shamrock-Hilton hotel, the incoming Governing Board of the American Oil Chemists' Society, with T. H. Hopper presiding, made the customary appointments and added a few new items. A summary of actions follows:

approval of publication of 1956 short course papers in Journal

reappointment of New Orleans representatives: J. J. Ganucheau and J. C. P. Helm reappointment of A. R. Baldwin as chairman of the Jour-

nal Committee and Journal editor

reappointment of Lucy R. Hawkins as executive secretary reappointment of T. H. Hopper as editor of the Official and Tentative Methods

reappointment of the Referee Board: N. W. Ziels, chairman, E. R. Hahn, R. R. King, R. C. Stillman, and T. H. Hopper, ex officio

appointment of representatives to Inter-Society Color Council: R. C. Stillman, chairman, M. M. Renfrew, Francis Scofield; of delegates: N. D. Embree, R. R. King, Duncan Macmillan, R. T. O'Connor, E. A. Lawrence, and T. C. Smith reappointment of R. T. Milner as representative to the

American Association for the Advancement of Science appointment of J. C. Konen and D. S. Bolley as representatives to the Technical Coordinating Committee, National Paint, Varnish, and Lacquer Association

reappointment of Foster Dee Snell as representative on the National Research Council for a three-year term appointment of J. B. Brown to the Food Protection Committee of the National Research Council

selection of 1959 meetings places: New Orleans in spring (50th anniversary year of founding of the Society), Los Angeles in fall (tentative)

approval of a new committee on technical safety approval of a one-year trial for policy of permitting nonmembers to participate in Smalley check sample work approval of the re-establishment of a special committee on local sections, with N. D. Embree as chairman, assisted by R. W. Bates, and a third to be appointed.

Other appointments are made by the president of the Society and will be announced in the July issue of the Journal and later issues, also in the 1956 edition of the membership directory.



PAST PRESIDENTS—At the Houston club on April 23, 1956, are gathered (seated) R. R. King, M. L. Sheely, T. C. Law, F. B. Porter, H. C. Dormitzer; (standing) Procter Thomson, W. A. Peterson, C. P. Long, E. M. James, and C. E. Morris. J. R. Mays Jr. was absent because of illness.

Journal Editor Reports to Membership in Houston

PPEARING before the membership at the 47th annual meeting of the American Oil Chemists' Society in Houston, Tex., at the Shamrock-Hilton hotel, April 23, 1956, A. R. Baldwin, chairman of the Journal Committee and editor of the Journal, summarized the work of the past year and thanked all members who had been helping.

He said that advertising in the Journal was the source of half of the Society revenue, that the abstracts section was one of the best in the country and more current than Chemical Abstracts. He mentioned the new system of associate editors, who with the authors and reviewers of manuscripts made a team. He complimented the Advertising Committee, of which J. P. Harris has been chairman.

Papers had been made more readable, more concise, he indicated, and 21 more had been published in 1955 than in 1954. Then he appealed for more volunteers to serve as reviewers and associate editors. A revised style sheet for the Journal was in process, he added, also a revised set of sheets for reviewers.

Printing costs were up by 5.1%, Baldwin commented, adding that although a member paid only \$8 dues per year, the actual cost per reader per year was \$11. Circulation of the Journal was climbing toward 5,000.



***EANT SAFETY—A special conference of those interested in safety measures is held April 24, 1956, in the Grecian room at the Shamrock Hilton hotel, Houston—the first such meeting in the history of the American Oil Chemists' Society. A. E. MacGee served as chairman.